Liverpool’s van Dijk Beats Sterling & Aguero to PFA POTY Award

20% Complete

Virgil van Dijk has beaten Raheem Sterling to become the PFA Players’ Player of the Year for 2019.

The official announcement is due later today but the Liverpool centre-half has won the backing of his fellow professionals for his outstanding contribution in the best defence in the Premier League this season.

The Dutchman was on a six-man shortlist that included his Anfield team-mate Sadio Mane as well as Sterling, fellow Manchester City players Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard.

Victory for van Dijk means the prize remains with Liverpool, following Mohamed Salah’s triumph last season.

READ ALSO: Frankfurt Director Confirms ‘Real Possibility’ of Wonderkid Jovic Joining Real Madrid

Other Liverpool players to have been awarded the honour are Luis Suarez (2013-14), Steven Gerrard (2005-06), John Barnes (1987-88), Ian Rush (1983-84), Kenny Dalglish (1982-83) and Terry McDermott (1979-80).

The 2019 PFA Awards will be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on April 28.


Follow us on Twitter  @aprecon
Follow us on IG            @_aprecon
Follow us on FB            @aprecon

Leave a Comment

Copyright 2017. All Right Reserved. PRIVACY POLICY

Powered by APRECON