20% Complete

The palace of Alake Egbaland is located at Ake, Abeokuta, Ogun state. The Alake of Abeokuta or Alake of Egbaland is the traditional ruler of the Egba tribe of Yoruba in the city of Abeokuta situated in Ogun state in south-western Nigeria.

The first Alake of Egbaland was Sagbua Okukenun who ruled from August 1854 to 1862. Prior to the appointment of Oba Sagbua Okukenum in 1846, Shomoye was enthroned as a Regent for one year, between 1845 and 1846 and following the demise of Oba Sagbua Okukenum in 1862, Shomoye returned to the throne of the Alake of Egbaland as a regent where he spent four years (1862-1868).


Afterwards, Oba Ademola was appointed in November 1869. He ruled for eight years until his demise on 20th December 1877. In January 1879, Oba Oyeekan was appointed as the Alake of Egbaland. He spent three years on the throne as a result of his death in September 1881. After Oba Oyeekan’s death, Oluwajin was appointed in February 1885 and ruled for four years.

          Old Alake’s Palace

The seat of the Alake of Egbaland was vacant for 2 years, then, Oba Oshokalu was appointed in September 1891. He ruled for seven years before his death on 11th June 1898. Same year, Oba Gbadebo I became the Alake of Egbaland. He reigned on the throne for twelve years until his death on 28th May 1920. He died at the age of 66 (1854–1920).

        New Alake’s Palace

After the death of Oba Gbadebo I in 1920, Ladapo Samuel Ademola II became the new ruler. He ruled for 42 years but was on exile for two years (1948 to December 1950). He died in 1962, leaving the throne vacant for one year and on September 1963 Oba Adesina Samuel Gbadebo II was appointed as the new Alake of Egbaland.

Oba Adesina Samuel Gbadebo died on 26th October 1971, Samuel Oyebade Lipede became the king. He ruled for 33 years until his demise on February 2005. After his death, Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo was appointed as the new Alake; he is currently on the throne.

             Craved Images 

The craved images are idols called ‘eere’ in Yoruba language being worshipped in Egba land. The land has been popular for her numerous different forms of idols which the residents worship in different seasons.

Abeokuta has five Kings with the Alake as the over-all head of all the Kings in Abeokuta. There are five ruling families in Egba land. When the ruling king dies, another family emerges as the king.

There are Five kings in Abeokuta, they are:

  1. The Alake of Egbaland (Paramount ruler of Abeokuta)
  2. The Olowu of Owu
  3. Oshile of Oke
  4. OnaAgura of Gbagura
  5. Olubara of Ibara

Follow us on twitter @aprecon

Leave a Comment

Copyright 2017. All Right Reserved. PRIVACY POLICY

Powered by APRECON